Dr Phillips Athletics
home sports alumni facilities support forms contact
Top Story
2018 Most Outstanding Athletes of the Year: Shania Gowan (Women's Wrestling, Women's Weightlifting) and Raymond Negron-Valero (Men's Soccer, Baseball, Men's Volleyball)

Gowan, Negron-Valero headline awards night
5/25/2018 10:53:00 AM

The Dr. Phillips High School Athletic Department honored 34 student-athletes and three extraordinary graduates last night at the annual Athletic Awards and Hall of Fame Ceremony. Junior Women's Wrestling sensation Shania Gowan and three-sport star Raymond Negron-Valero captured the Most Outstanding Athlete of the Year honors while 2013 graduates Angela Algee, Bridget    Blake  and Hannah Schaible were inducted into the Dr. Phillips Athletic Hall of Fame.

Angela Algee is considered the best swimmer in Dr. Phillips history, having earned five State Championships in Women's Swimming, including the 200 individual medley and the 100 butterfly, in addition to gold medals in all three relay events. The 2013 Bright House Sports Network Swimmer of the Year, she continues to hold three school records and recently graduated from the University of Miami, where she qualified for the USA Olympic Trials in 2016. Algee was inducted by her former swim coach, Natalie Nickson, who described her as "the most competitive swimmer I've ever coached." For more information on Angela Algee please click here: http://dpathletics.ocps.net/alum_bio.asp?aid=426

Bridget Blake is the most highly decorated athlete in school history, earning a total of nine State Championships in Women's Cross Country and Women's Track and Field. Blake owns the top three distance times in Women's Cross Country, every distance record for Women's Track and Field and was named the Central Florida or State Runner of the Year 11 times in her three-year career. She went on to an outstanding career at Florida State and continued as a graduate transfer at Michigan State this year, where she is currently competing in the NCAA Track and Field Regional Championship in Tampa. For more information on Bridget Blake, click here: http://dpathletics.ocps.net/alum_bio.asp?aid=430

Hannah Schaible may be the best athlete ever to come through Dr. Phillips High School, having captained three consecutive State Championship teams in Women's Basketball as well as another as a four-year Central Florida Player of the Year quarterback in Flag Football. Schaible also excelled in Women's Volleyball, earning All-Metro Conference honors in all three sports as a senior. Schaible earned 11 varsity letters in her career and was named DP Athlete of the Year in 2012, the first junior to earn the honor, and went on to earn the Orlando Sentinel's Central Florida Athlete of the Year as well. Schaible continued her basketball career at George Washington University where she earned All-Conference honors and played professional basketball in Denmark after graduation. Read more on Hannah Schaible here: http://dpathletics.ocps.net/alum_bio.asp?aid=454

Our Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year was awarded to junior Shania Gowan, who captured her second consecutive Women's Wrestling State Championship this year and also competed in Women's Weightlifting. Gowan finished the wrestling season a perfect 38-0 with 36 pins and is undefeated in her last 54 matches while climbing the national rankings as well. An All-American, Gowan placed fifth at the USA Wrestling Championship in Oklahoma City back in March.  

The Most Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year was presented to junior Raymond Negron-Valero, who was a standout defender for Men's Soccer, and All-Metro West honoree for Men's Volleyball and a rock solid second baseman for Baseball. Negron-Valero defied all odds and silenced all skeptics when he competed for Volleyball and Baseball in the same season, excelling at both, despite the challenges of navigating each sport's 25-game schedule. He is one of the primary reasons Baseball is competing in the State Final Four, having come up with clutch hits in every playoff game, including the District Semifinal where he belted a two-run, game-tying triple in our final at-bat that saved the season.

Our Bill Spoone Female Scholar Athlete of the Year award was presented to Cross Country and Track and Field sensation Isabela Bartczak, who placed third at the Cross Country State Championship and sixth in the 3200m at the Track and Field State Championship. Bartczak graduates today as a valedictorian with a 5.26 GPA and will compete for Brown University.

The Bill Spoone Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was presented to Baseball phenom Cort Roedig, who is considered one of the top high school prospects in the entire country this year. Roedig, who owns a 5.0 GPA, battled back from a serious arm injury over the summer and has rebounded to become one of the most feared right-handed pitchers in the game. He has won three consecutive playoff outings, leading his team to the State Final Four for the first time in 22 years. He has signed to play for Georgia Tech.

The Bob Noyes Sportsmanship Awards were presented to senior Stephanie Oliveira (Women's Soccer, Flag Football) and senior Bo Ivey (Men's Cross Country, Men's Track and Field) for their outstanding character and willingness to go above and beyond the already high expectations we have for our student-athletes.

With two State Championships earned this year, Women's Wrestling head coach Kirwyn Adderly and Football head coach Rodney Wells both earned Coach of the Year honors, with a special nod to Baseball head coach Mike Bradley, who is shooting for a State Championship next weekend and looking to join the ranks as well.

The Principal's Achievement Award is presented to students that exemplify all the qualities we expect from a Dr. Phillips Student Athlete: humility, respect, sportsmanship, leadership and commitment. Each award recipient was chosen personally by their coach and presented their plaque by Principal Dr. Suzanne Knight. Here are the award recipients:

Athletic Training: Sparkle Evans

Baseball: August Haymaker

Women's Basketball: Samijah Butler

Men's Basketball: Daniel Love

Women's Bowling: Marissa Gilman

Men's Bowling: Mathew Crawford

Competitive Cheerleading: Bianca Velez

Women's Cross Country: Isabela Bartczak

Men's Cross Country: Bo Ivey

Flag Football: Megan Lapeyrouse

Football: Brian Velez

Women's Golf: Emma Hallson

Men's Golf: Joey Hodges

Women's Soccer: Madison Lamb

Men's soccer: Micah Martin

Softball: Raychel Trocki

Women's Swimming and Diving: Caroline Grzeszczak

Men's Swimming and Diving: Alex Kaiser

Women's Tennis: Jaden Asuncion

Men's Tennis: Reece Simon

Women's Track and Field: Zoe Alexander

Men's Track and Field: Adriel RIvera Aponte

Women's Volleyball: Kelly Gauger

Men's Volleyball: DJ Nenic

Women's Water Polo: Caroline Grzeszczak

Men's Water Polo: Gabriel Madej

Women's Weightlifting: Megan Rush

Men's Weightlifting: Avinash Jawahir

Women's Wrestling: Remy Hellinger

Men's Wrestling: Sebastian Norman  

Congratulations to our athletes, coaches and parents on another extraordinary year!



Recent Administration M Articles:

For more information, view the Administration M page.

Share this article

Bookmark and Share