Dr Phillips Athletics
home sports alumni facilities support forms contact
Top Story
Shania Gowan, Karoline Ortiz, Shedeline Ulysse and Jessica Corredor led Women's Wrestling to its 16th consecutive tournament championship (2019)

Women's Wrestling takes team title at CC
1/21/2019 5:00:00 PM

Backed by four individual champions and eight more podium finishers, Women's Wrestling captured its 16th consecutive tournament championship with a remarkable showing at the Lady Bear Tournament at Cypress Creek this past Saturday. DP outpaced second place Freedom, 234.5-186.5, while third place University earned 124 points among the 19 competing teams. All four of DP's nationally-ranked wrestlers earned titles in their respective weight classes. Jessica Corredor took the crown at 99 pounds, pinning all three of her opponents to up her season record to 20-0 with 20 pins. At 128, Karoline Ortiz earned three pins to win the title as her season record improved to 22-0. Shania Gowan moves to 19-0 with 19 pins as she won the 162-pound weight class and senior Shedeline Ulysse pinned all four of her opponents to win the 222-pound division while increasing her season mark to 10-0. DP also had three wrestlers earn second-place honors with Jennifer Charles (134), Jennifer Gabriel (147) and Naomi Alezi (197) while third place finishes were turned in by Sterline Joseph (99), Juliana Diaz (113), Anastasia Etienne (152), Skyy Gowan (174) and Xiomara Roddy (182). This coming Saturday, DP will compete at the Greyhound Invitational, hosted by Lyman High School.

Recent Wrestling W Articles:

For more information, view the Wrestling W page.

Share this article

Bookmark and Share