Dr Phillips Athletics
home sports alumni facilities support forms contact
Top Story
Tiffany Tolbert and Dylan Meeks earn the 2016 Most Outstanding Athlete Awards

Ron Fonnett, Ian Supra enter Hall of Fame
5/26/2016 9:54:00 AM

The 2016 Annual Athletic Awards and Hall of Fame ceremony capped off another successful sports year for Dr. Phillips High School as 38 students were honored for their accomplishments on the playing field and in the classroom. Former Women’s Basketball Coach Ron Fonnett was our first Hall of Fame inductee of the evening, introduced by former assistant and current Evans Athletic Director Wanda Perdue. A picture of class and sportsmanship who taught his players the same qualities every day, Coach Fonnett coached DP for 21 years, amassing a school-record 334 victories, while winning the program’s first State Championship in 1992. In an emotional thank you, Coach Fonnett thanked his family, his former players, as well as former Principal Bill Spoone  and the late Bill Thompson, our first Athletic Director, for giving him the opportunity to do what he loved and to teach others how to give 100% every day, no matter how big or small the task in front of them.

Ian Supra was one of the best student-athletes at Dr. Phillips HS from 2010-2014 as an All-American in both Men’s Swimming and Men’s Water Polo. Ian was a state place-winner and All-Metro Conference honoree in Men’s Swimming, having set the school record in the 50 freestyle, as well as two school relay records that still stand, while helping his team to four consecutive Metro West titles and two Regional Championships. Ian was best known as one of the top Men’s Water Polo players in the country; a dynamic force in the water but the epitome of a gentleman outside of it. No one commanded more respect than Ian Supra. He was a friend to all, a leader among his peers and teammates and embodied everything you would want in a son, a friend and a student-athlete. Ian’s induction was presented by coaches Natalie Nickson and Leonardo Leon Ramirez and accepted by his dad, Chris Supra, who reminded all of us just how much Ian loved Dr. Phillips. Ian’s passing six months ago will never be understood but his legacy at Dr. Phillips High School will never be forgotten.

The night’s major awards saw some new faces as well as a familiar one on stage. Our Most Outstanding Athletes of the Year were presented to Women’s Basketball and Flag Football standout Tiffany Tolbert and to Men’s Wrestling and Football star Dylan Meeks. For Tolbert, a junior who earned All-Central Florida honors for Women’s Basketball and All-State honors in Flag Football, it was her first time being honored by the department. Dylan Meeks, however, is quickly solidifying himself as one of the best student-athletes in school history. A three-time State Champion Wrestler and a two-time All-American in Football, Meeks, still a junior, won his third consecutive Outstanding Athlete award…and the only one to ever win it more than once.

Our William C. Spoone Scholar-Athletes of the Year, which are presented to those that exemplify equal excellence in the classroom as well as in their sport, were presented to senior Annika Sison and junior Jake Meisenheimer. Sison, a three-time Metro West champion who will be attending Boston College, excelled in both Women’s Cross Country and Women’s Track as one of the top distance runners in school history while graduating with an extraordinary 5.05 GPA.  Jake Meisenheimer earned the award after completing remarkable seasons in both Men’s Swimming and Men’s Water Polo. Meisenheimer was one of the top swimmers in the state this year having won three Metro West and District Championships and earned All-Metro West honors in Water Polo as well. Still a junior, Meisenheimer owns a 4.80 grade point average.

The Bob Noyes Sportsmanship Awards for 2016 were presented to junior Maddie Magrino and senior Richie Diedrich. Magrino is an All-Metro West honoree in both Women’s Swimming and Women’s Water Polo while Diedrich earned All-State and All-America recognition for Men’s Volleyball and will be attending Indiana-Purdue University at Ft. Wayne on scholarship. Both were nominated by their coaches and elected by the entire coaching staff for representing Dr. Phillips High School with class while displaying exceptional sportsmanship in victory as well as in defeat.

Our 2016 Coach of the Year Award was presented to Anthony Jones for Women’s Basketball and Flag Football. Both teams far exceeded their preseason expectations this year. Women’s Basketball bounced back from a 4-18 record a year ago and a dismal start to this season to earn a berth in the Regional Championship, just one win from a trip to the Final Four. Having taken a year off after the birth of their child, Coach Jones returned to the field with Flag Football this year. After finishing with the program’s first sub .500 record in its 14-year history last year, Coach Jones inherited a team with minimal experience, only five returning players, stocked with freshmen and sophomores. Didn’t matter, though. The ladies stormed their way through the season with 11 victories, eight via shutout, and captured their sixth District Championship in seven years.

Each sport also presents its Principal’s Award to the person that best represents the qualities expected of a Dr. Phillips student-athlete, including leadership, character and attitude. Below is the list of each sport’s recipient:

Athletic Training: Irina Zorc

Baseball: Chase Cheek

Basketball – Men: Justin Tucker

Basketball – Women: Tiffany Tolbert

Bowling – Men: Gregory Stephen

Bowling – Women: Jessica Ortiz

Cheerleading: Emma Wailes

Cross Country – Men: Alex Nkuitabong

Cross Country – Women: Isabela Bartczak 

Flag Football: Nada Chouikhi

Football: Max Kingstone

Golf – Men: Zack Justice

Golf – Women: Jovani Culver

Lacrosse – Men: Thomas Barrett

Lacrosse – Women: Syera Ballmes

Soccer – Men: Leonardo Moreira

Soccer – Women: Samantha Boshears

Softball: Nini Underwood

Special Olympics: Vinit Patel

Swimming – Men: Jake Meisenheimer

Swimming – Women: Maddie Magrino

Tennis- Men: Nico San Pedro

Tennis – Women: Raphaela Frias

Track: Men: Alvin Bryant

Track: Women: Alahni Wood

Volleyball – Men: Damian Rivera

Volleyball – Women: Sabrina Scime

Water Polo – Men: Corbin Chamberlain

Water Polo - Women: Julia James

Weightlifting – Men: Tanner Ingle

Weightlifting – Women: Sashanique Thomspon

Wrestling - Men: Khai Do

Wrestling – Women: Valeria Herrera

Recent Administration M Articles:

For more information, view the Administration M page.

Share this article

Bookmark and Share