Dr Phillips Athletics
home sports alumni facilities support forms contact
Top Story
37 athletes and coaches were honored at the 2017 Athletic Awards Ceremony

Anthony Long inducted into Hall of Fame
5/4/2017 9:44:00 AM

Last night at the 2017 Athletic Awards Ceremony, the Athletic Department honored 35 student-athletes for their accomplishments this season and two coaches that have established themselves as the best in our school's history in their sports. Men's Basketball head coach Anthony Long, who stepped down this year after 15 seasons, was inducted into our Hall of Fame, Long won 332 games at Dr. Phillips, including 13 consecutive seasons with 20 or more wins and all 15 seasons with a minimum of 19 victories. Long coached the Panthers to six Metro titles, seven District Championships and three trips to the State Championship game. In his induction speech, Coach Long made note of the special things he remembered most and stressed how fortunate he was to be a part of Dr. Phillips High School, reminding the students in attendance that they, too, have contributed greatly to the reputation and success of the school. He also noted to them the importance of remembering special nights like tonight because time passes quickly and we too often lose track of the moments and events that shape our lives.


Head Football Coach Rodney Wells earned the 2017 Coach of the Year Award after leading the Panthers to their ninth consecutive District Championship and a State Runner-Up finish. Wells was truly humbled by the honor, touching on his history as a young boy growing up on the sidelines of games and how this was his dream...to play for DP, then to work at DP and of course, to coach at DP. He also took the time to explain the importance and work it takes to be great, how everyone wants to be great, but few actually know how to become it; that those that truly want it have to work at it every day in all aspects of their lives.


In the voting awards, our Most Outstanding Athletes of the Year were awarded to senior Maddie Magrino and senior Dylan Meeks. Magrino, a four-year letterman in both Swimming and Water Polo, won Metro West and District Championships in two events for Swimming this past fall and shattered six school records for Water Polo in the spring, including career records for goals scored, assists and steals. She was named All-Metro West Conference in both sports and has been nominated for All-American honors in Water Polo as well as Academic All-American honors for both sports. Magrino will be attending Arizona State University in the fall. Meeks is arguably the most well-known athlete in our school's history at this point. He is easily the best wrestler in school history, finishing this year as State Runner-Up with a record of 26-1. He capped his Wrestling career with a record of 179-3 overall including state titles in his freshman, sophomore and junior years. After battling his way back from a shoulder injury over the summer, Meeks returned for the playoffs and led DP in tackles the last five games of the season. He finished his Football career as our all-time leading tackler and just yesterday, committed to play Football for the University of Akron. This was Dylan Meeks' fourth consecutive Athlete of the Year Award...the only athlete in school history to win the award more than once!


Our Bill Spoone Scholar-Athletes of the Year were awarded to Elyse Decker and Jake Meisenheimer. Decker, one of the top Lacrosse players in Central Florida, is a valedictorian with a 5.19 GPA. She earned All-American honors on the field as well Academic All-American and will be heading to the Ivy League to play Lacrosse at the University of Pennsylvania. Meisenheimer earned his second consecutive Scholar-Athlete Award after graduating with a 5.05 GPA and earning All-Metro West honors in both Swimming, placing fourth in the state in the 200m, and Water Polo as well as Academic All-American honors for both sports. Meisenheimer will be heading to Florida next fall.


Our Bob Noyes Sportsmanship Award winners were Piper Johnson and Sydney Capers. Johnson, a standout Lacrosse player who will continue her career at St. Mary's in California, set school records for career points and assists in a season. While she's an incredible athlete and an outstanding student, she has always placed a priority on respect, reputation and sportsmanship, even in the most difficult circumstances. Capers is a four-year member of our Football and Track teams and this award came as no surprise to anyone. One of the most respectful, appreciative and hard-working young men on our campus, Sydney will be playing Football at Augustana University in South Dakota.


New to the event this year are the Meritorious Academic Awards presented to student-athletes that will sit on stage as valedictorians at graduation. This year we have three athletes that earned a perfect 4.0 un-weighted GPA: Elyse Decker (Lacrosse), Sarah Demsky (Swimming, Water Polo) and Philip Khoury (Tennis).


The United States Marine Corps was also in attendance, honoring three student-athletes that have overcome tremendous obstacles on their way to success this year: Elyse Decker (Lacrosse), Dylan Meeks (Football, Wrestling) and Karoline Ortiz (Wrestling)


The Athletic Department also presented its Principal's Awards to selected members of each sport. This award is chosen by the head coach for the athlete that demonstrates best the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, consideration, respect, pride and commitment. It is not based on statistics, popularity or grade level, but solely on character. The following students earned this year's awards: 


Athletic Training: Malchijah Whiskey

Baseball: Bailey Kossoff

Basketball - Women: Rukayla Winters

Basketball - Men: Daniel Love

Bowling - Women: Min Jeong Kim

Bowling - Men: Mathew Crawford

Cheerleading: Laura Wallace

Cross Country - Women: Sabrina Bahr

Cross Country - Men: Matt Merriman

Flag Football: Kaylee Messina

Football: Sydney Capers

Golf - Women: Isabella Kennedy

Golf - Men: Jason Sullivan

Lacrosse - Women: Elyse Decker

Lacrosse - Men: Jason Sullivan

Soccer - Women: Aalyiah Bates

Soccer - Men: Matthew McGuire

Softball: Hannah Eden

Swimming - Women: Julia James

Swimming - Men: Jake Meisenheimer

Tennis: Women: Gabriella Clementel

Tennis: Men: Philip Khoury

Track and Field: Women: Jadzia Young

Track and Field: Men: Caleb Walls

Volleyball - Women: Fabiola Ribas

Volleyball - Men: Damian Rivera

Water Polo - Women: Maddie Magrino

Water Polo - Men: Tyler Haugh

Weightlifting - Women: Megan Rush

Weightlifting - Men: Joe Gulla

Wrestling - Women: Valeria Herrera

Wrestling - Men: Luis Forestal



Recent Administration M Articles:

For more information, view the Administration M page.

Share this article

Bookmark and Share